Paying my property tax


Property tax is a regional tax on real estate located in the Walloon region. Property tax is calculated based on cadastral income, as established by the federal administration. You will receive a payment notice (notice of tax assessment) for withholding tax during the second half of the year.  The amount of property tax owed to the Walloon region is 1.25% of the indexed cadastral income. The provinces and municipalities may establish fees in addition to the property tax.

In detail

Target audience – details

Property tax is owed by the owner, holder, leaseholder, superficiary or usufructuary of a taxable property by 1 January of the tax period.


Property tax exemptions pertain to: buildings that are used for non-profit activities (places of worship, education, hospitals, etc.); buildings that have been allocated by foreign states for their diplomatic or consular missions or non-profit cultural institutions (subject to reciprocity); real estate that is deemed national estates; equipment and tools with a cadastral income less than €795; equipment and tools that are acquired or incorporated as new in the territory of the Walloon region, starting from 1 January 2006; nature or forest reserves; Natura 2000 sites; certain organisations that are exempt under special laws or decrees; companies that are in receipt of an investment allowance from the Walloon region (temporary exemption). In principal, those who are entitled to an exemption are not sent a payment notice. Property-tax deductions can also be requested for: modest homes for disabled dependants. If a property is unoccupied, or real estate, equipment or tools are non-productive or destroyed, a proportional property-tax deduction may be requested. 



Updated on
Process n° : 142055
Did you find this page useful?
Back to processes